Underground Mine Communications Infrastructure Workshop

The purpose of the Underground Mine Communications Infrastructure guideline is to provide current best practices for designing underground mine communications, highlighting potential challenges, key decisions and typical solutions. While not intended to be comprehensive, this document should provide a basic understanding of the lifecycle of underground communication system design, implementation, maintenance, and refresh.

In order to complete the guideline draft by July, we’re holding workshops to finalize specific sections. We are looking for subject matter experts specific to section 5 – Design.

About the section

Section 5 – Design includes considerations during underground network selection and design, including system components and identifying the best IP network infrastructure based on operation. An overview of the potential administrative tasks is provided, followed by examples of the communication regulatory bodies and legislative acts that are in effect in mining jurisdictions around the world.

The industry provided excellent and beneficial content around LTE; however, other components require consideration.

Specific needs are for:

  • 5.4. Design choice between Radio/WiFi vs LTE
  • 5.5. System Components for Radio
  • 5.6. System Components for Wi-Fi

Currently the guideline has design components for LTE but nothing for the others. There’s a need for management service design considerations from a physical and digital perspective

REGISTER HERE

Date
May 7, 2024

Time
3-5 PM PDT | 4-6 PM MDT | 6-8 PM EDT | 8-10 AM AEST+1

Location
Virtual

X