Underground Mine Communications Infrastructure Workshop

The purpose of the Underground Mine Communications Infrastructure guideline is to provide current best practices for designing underground mine communications, highlighting potential challenges, key decisions and typical solutions. While not intended to be comprehensive, this document should provide a basic understanding of the lifecycle of underground communication system design, implementation, maintenance, and refresh.

In order to complete the guideline draft by July, we’re holding workshops to finalize specific sections. We are looking for subject matter experts specific to section 7 – Operations and Maintenance and 8 – Disposal or Refresh.

About the sections

Section 7 includes considerations for operation and maintenance after the mine design and system management considerations are accounted for.

Section 8 discusses the overall approach for technology delivery and maintenance of that technology as refresh is required. As technology advances there is often a need to update or refresh the communications infrastructure onsite to comply with regulations and make sure there is safety for those working within the mine. Additionally, there is a requirement to ensure disposal procedures are followed.

During the workshop, we’ll review sections 7 and 8 to determine inaccuracies.

REGISTER HERE

Date
June 12, 2024

Time
8-10 AM EDT | 9-11 AM CLST | 1-3 PM BST | 2-4 PM CEST

Location
Virtual

X