Implementation of Autonomous Systems in Mining Guideline V2 – Underground Considerations Workshop 1

April 26 2021 8-10:30 am EDT | 1-3:30 pm CET | 8-10:30 pm AWST+ 

About the project: 

The first version of the Guideline for the Implementation of Autonomous Systems in Mining is being used within the industry as a playbook for effective autonomous systems implementation, as a way to understand customer needs, and as an educational, communications, and operational tool. Version 2 will offer updated guidance and considerations on justifying, planning, developing, testing, implementing, and executing autonomous systems. 

About the workshop: 

The first version of the guideline included little content about implementing autonomous systems underground. For this second version, workshop participants will consider whether Underground Considerations should have its own dedicated section or if it is better approached as a subsection within the other existing sections. Underground Considerations focuses on providing underground mines with some guidance and specific considerations for accommodating autonomous systems into their operations. 

Key considerations: 

  • Communication networks and backbone 
  • Operational readiness will be different, additional steps  
  • Ventilation  
  • Equipment size  
  • Localization technologies  
  • Dewatering  
  • Deployment limitations  
  • High temperature and humidity
  • Ground support and backfill 

This workshop will be held virtually on two separate dates to accommodate different time zonesClick here to view the other date and time option. 

Featured Events

august, 2021

No Events

X