ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

GMG Working Group Artificial Intelligence Robot

Artificial intelligence (AI) has great potential for making operations safer and more productive. This working group aims to identify the current challenges, educate the industry, keep up with the rapid pace of change in this field and define collaborative solutions.

WHY IT IS IMPORTANT FOR THE MINING INDUSTRY

The mining industry is increasingly using AI as a tool to optimize processes, enhance decision-making, derive value from data and improve safety. Nevertheless, the transition to an AI-enabled mine will look different for every organization and an inadequate implementation may result in:

  • Revenue loss
  • Accidental system failures
  • Resistance to change
  • Potential hazards and labour risks

While AI has many benefits for the industry, it is still very new and there is a lot of work that needs to go into successfully applying it. It therefore requires a robust foundation of planning, research, communication and change management. 

ABOUT THE WORKING GROUP

The AI Working Group aims to identify the current challenges within the industry, define long-term collaborative solutions, drive innovation, educate on AI-related concepts and technologies like machine learning, keep up with the rapid advancement of technologies, and share best practices and knowledge. The group is a global network of subject-matter experts, operators, suppliers, leaders from inside and outside the mining industry, and those interested in learning more about applying AI in their operations. 

Objectives

  • Develop high-quality material about AI and related emerging technologies for their safe, effective and efficient application in the mining industry
  • Facilitate a global network of AI professionals to share real use case examples, drive valuable conversations about solving key challenges and advance collaboration for enabling AI adoption 
  • Define AI in a clear and accessible way and support its implementation and long-term sustainability

UPCOMING EVENTS

Virtual Forum Series: Artificial Intelligence

September 9 | 8-11am (EDT)| 2-5pm (CEST)| 8-11pm (AWST)|

Join and collaborate in real-time! VISIT EVENTPAGE

November 17 | 8am-11am (EST)| 2pm-5pm (CEST)| 8pm-11pm (AWST)|

Join and collaborate in real-time! VISIT EVENTPAGE

ACTIVE PROJECTS

Implementation of AI

Leverage lessons learned and case study examples from experience applying AI in mining to develop an implementation guideline and develop a roadmap for the industry so that AI applications can be scalable. Click here to read more.

Open Data Sets for AI in Mining

Phase one: develop a guideline for the collection, cleaning, labelling, and curating of open data sets to help the industry test and train their models for a variety of AI applications. Click here to read more. 

VIRTUAL MEETING. Upcoming Open Data Sets Project Call on September 28th | 8am-9am EDT | 2pm-3pm (CEST) | 8pm-9pm (AWST) . Click here to register.

PROJECT LATEST UPDATE

Implementation of AI in Mining – Business Call
September 15th | 8pm-9pm (EDT) – 12am-1am (UTC) – 8am-9am (AWST)

Implementation of AI in Mining – Technical Call 
October 1st | 8am-9am (EDT) | 12pm-1pm (UTC) | 8pm-9pm (AWST)

Implementation of AI in Mining – Ethics Call
September 23rd | 8am-9am (EDT) | 12pm-1pm (UTC)|– 8pm-9pm (AWST)

Implementation of AI in Mining – Use Cases Call 
September 30th | 8pm-9pm (EDT) | 12am-1am (UTC) | 8am-9am (AWST)

Want to participate? Contact us at info@gmggroup.org

UPDATES

Select the project that you’re interested on.

Project leaders presented on the last Artificial Intelligence Working Group call on August 11th, and hosted a breakout room to expand on Ethics and Education section on the guideline. Click to learn more about project.

  • Draft is under preliminary editing by Technical Editor. Click here to learn more about the project.
  • Upcoming Open Data Sets Project Call on September 28th . Click here to register

Click here to learn more about the project.

GMG Publications

2019 Oct | Foundations of AI: A Framework for AI in Mining

The White Paper identifies background information on AI and its relevance to mining, describes a maturity model that will enable companies to plan their AI strategies, explores the high-level steps for implementing AI and describes some ways in which AI is being applied in mining. Read the white paper here

GMG Resources

Foundations of Artificial Intelligence in Mining (Video)

The mining industry is increasingly using artificial intelligence (AI) as a tool to optimize processes, enhance decision-making, derive value from data, and improve safety. The white paper aims to build a foundation for mining companies that are planning and implementing AI solutions. Click here to watch.

From idea to product: The application of AI algorithms in mining (Video)

With the mining sector embracing more and more the principles of the industry 4.0, we expect artificial intelligence to be the next revolution in mining. But in data science, between ideas and products there is a long and tortuous road. This presentation will describe how Newtrax has managed to move from ideas to reality for the application of AI technology in mining. Best practices and common traps to avoid will be discussed as well. Click here to watch.

Developing Open Data Sets for AI in the Mining Sector (Video)

The Global Mining Guideline’s AI in Mining Working Group has begun to work collaboratively with its stakeholders to build the case for open data sets specific to the mining sector for AI development. GMG believes this will enhance the ability to build meaningful solutions for the industry by providing typical data relating to assets or operations for training and testing of models, and allowing all parties to have the ability to benchmark solutions and research more effectively. Click here to watch.

Learnings from Staging Petabytes of Data for Analysis in AWS (Video)

AWS hosts a variety of public datasets that anyone can access for free. Previously, large datasets such as satellite imagery or genomic data have required hours or days to locate, download, customize, and analyze. When data is made publicly available in the cloud, anyone can analyze any volume of data without needing to download or store it themselves. We will look at patterns and anti-patterns to watch out for when looking to work with open data across any domain. Click here to watch.


X