Underground Mining Prioritization: Workshop

About the Workshop

GMG is holding virtual workshops on September 1 and 7 to have critical discussions on the key priorities for advancing underground mining and define a strategy to drive collaboration to address these priorities. 

Guest speaker(s) will be announced shortly.

Background

In discussions with mining companies earlier this year, underground mining priorities they identified included autonomous mining; communications technologies; electrification (including battery safety, charging, long-term planning, overall energy management and regulations); data and connectivity; and workforce and training. Read more on this here .

In a recent workshop in Sudbury, industry participants identified the following priority areas:

  • Autonomous Mining
  • Continuous Mining for Hard Rock
  • Battery Swapping vs Opportunity Charging and Interoperability and Telemetry
  • Common Language and Processes
  • Good Operational Practices

See workshop highlights here .

Why Participate

This virtual workshop will be an opportunity to participate from anywhere in the world with peers and get the priorities you’re tackling on the table to determine the common challenges to address together. It is intended for anyone working in underground mining. 

Outcomes from the workshop will be guidance to the GMG Underground Mining Working Group steering committee to develop their work plans and projects.  

As the informed voices of the mining and metals industry, we need your input to provide direction to the GMG Working Groups to make sure our project plans reflect your needs. Please spread the word about these events around your company.

What to Expect

GMG prioritization workshops aim to break down an overall topic into manageable pieces and identify what can be done about them through GMG’s collaborative model. Participants should be prepared to share their thoughts and knowledge about the topic and discuss potential collaboration opportunities.

Alternate Times

We are offering two workshops to accommodate the varying time zones around the globe. As such, a person will only need to register for one of the workshops.

September 1, 2022 | 7-9 am EDT / 1-3 pm CEST / 2-4 pm AST/ 7-9 pm AWST

September 7, 2022 | 5-7 pm PDT / 8-10 pm EDT / 8-10 am AWST+1 / 10 am-noon AEST+1 8:00-10:00 pm EDT

Register here.

X